Scholarships - Radio/Television/Film Department

Ned Eckhardt Television Production Scholarship

This scholarship, in honor of Professor Ned Eckhardt, recognizes the academic achievements of a student who exhibits exceptional skills in video production, including documentaries, episodic television, music based work, journalistic works, narrative stories, and new media video.

Appoximate value: $2,000

Requirements for Application

  • Students must be RTF majors with a production specialization
  • Overall GPA of 2.75 or above
  • Junior or senior status in the academic year for which application is being submitted
  • Please submit the following materials:
    • Current resume, highlighting academic and creative accomplishments
    • A short portfolio of applicants video/film work. Work may have been produced in a class, for a club, or independently. Links to projects are preferred
    • 1-2 page statement of why video production and storytelling are important to the candidate
    • Apply Applications due March 2, 2020. Interviews with finalists may be scheduled.

The Salva Family Scholarship

Rowan University alumnus Lawrence J. Salva, chief accounting officer and controller of Comcast Corporation and Rowan Radio/TV/Film alumni, has established a $4,200 scholarship per year for RTF students. While a student at the University, Salva was the business manager for WGLS-FM and is a member of the station’s Hall of Fame.

Appoximate value: $4,000

Awarded to a junior Radio, Television, and Film major with a top GPA who is active in RTF activities, such as WGLS, Cinema Workshop, or Channel 5. Minimum 3.25 GPA required. Please send resume and 1-2 page cover letter in an email to with the subject line “Salva Family Scholarship Application.”

Applications due by March 2, 2020.

For information on scholarships contact: Professor Diana Nicolae -



External Scholarships

The Charles and Lucille King Family Foundation (up to $7,000) -

Broadcast Education Association (BEA) ($1,000 - $4,000) -